Crafty Features

Yarn to Dye For: My First Yarn Give- Away!

Welcome back! I hope your week has been a creative one & that you have wonderful weekend plans.  Today I am going to share with you my favourite Sunday activity: Yarn dying and launch my first ever yarn give-away!

A month or so ago, before I started this blog, I went on a Yarn Dying Master class at my local craft store. The York Makery is a wonderful little shop right in the heart of the City with everything you could want for a crafty life in York: lino cutting, paper craft, sewing, needle felting, jewellery making, & Knicker making. It really is a treasure trove of craft & you can find out more about them, and their workshops by liking them on Facebook! Whitney from Double Ewe Designs taught the class and she was brilliant! She gave loads of hints and tips, colour advice, friendly chatter and she complimented the cupcakes that I brought along so she gets a massive thumbs up from me. You can find out more about Double Ewe Designs and buy her beautiful products by visiting her website.

We had so much fun in the class – there were six of us in total and we all got on really well. I don’t know what it is about crafters but we all seem to be so nice. I think it must be our creative nature because I have never met a crafter that I didn’t immediately get on with like a house on fire. Anyways… we had a lovely afternoon together and the finished yarns that everyone made were absolutely beautiful. We had loads of fun deciding what to call the yarns and ending up calling the ‘Goldfish Bowl’, ‘Something Sugary’ & ‘Happy Hippy’. Why not let us know what these colours remind you of in the comments below?

As soon as I left The York Makery that day I went straight home and bought all the bits & pieces that I needed to dyes at home. I like to call the un-dyed yarn ‘Blank Canvas Yarn’ because it feels like exactly that: a blank canvas to make your own! For my first home-dyed attempt I bought a Merino/Nylon blend so that many a sock could be made (also because it is what we used in the class and I didn’t want to be crazy adventurous on my first lone dying venture). Waiting for online wool purchases is always difficult but this was excruciating: I was just so excited to get started!

 When the wool arrived I set myself up with a lovely little pull down dying space for me to do my thing and keep all of my dying bits and pieces together.

13901841_1074688119283854_539303059_o

I now spend most Sunday’s sat here experimenting with colours and shades, hand painting the yarn with a cup of tea in my hand and listening to Fay & Lynne chatter away about craft on their Crochet Circle Podcast – does that not just sound like the most perfect lazy Sunday! Over the past few weeks I have dyed a handful of hanks, pictured below, and I can’t wait to get stitching with them! I have so many plans for other colours & have just ordered more blank canvas Yarn, with some different blends so keep your eyes to the blog for updates and pictures of the hanks.

13649460_1060587960693870_1079257857_n
Blue Lagoon
13932101_10202114918831476_924312427_o
Cherry Floss
13941046_10202114875870402_14527178_n
Marvellous Marmalade

‘Blue Lagoon’ was supposed to be a Christmas present – but I don’t think I can part with it! Cherry Floss is going to make a lovely summer shawl for me (probably for next summer now!) & Marvellous Marmalade? Well, That’s destine to be one of yours!

I am enjoying dying this wonderful yarn so much that I have decided to take the plunge and start working towards opening an Etsy shop to share my yarns with all my lovely followers!

So… to get you all as excited as I am, I’m giving away the beautiful, multi-tone, lightly variegated yellow & orange skein: Marvellous Marmalade.

All you need to do to get your name in the hat is FOLLOW Cherry Floss Crafts! If you already follow me, great, you’re all done! If not, just click the follow button in the sidebar – it’s as simple as that!  

Get your name in the hat twice by sharing this give-away on Twitter with the link (http://bit.ly/CherryFloss) & tag in @CherryFloss! 

The Winner will be announced on Friday 19th August 2016 right here on the blog & on Twitter!

Good Luck & Happy Stitching

Cherry Floss X

6 thoughts on “Yarn to Dye For: My First Yarn Give- Away!

    1. Thanks Rachel! The blue was my first home attempt and I was so happy with the way it turned out. It’s such a rewarding thing to do – i’ll keep my eyes on your blog & look forwards to see what you get up to. Glad you liked the post – many more to come! Alice X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

