Crafty Features

From Crochet to Knit!

dsc_0815

As we all know my forte is definitely crochet. My Nanna taught me to knit when I was a little girl and I tried desperately to pick it up, I went through years and years of my life being able to do a half decent garter stitch but needed my mum to cast on and cast off and never really got off the ground with it. 3 years ago I found my salvation in crochet, something that I didn’t even know existed. I thought that everything made with yarn must be knitted so to discover something else I could try my hand at was wonderful. With the help of half a dozen YouTube videos, a lovely sunny summer, and a supportive sister I found something that changed me completely!

For 3 years I have trundled along happily enjoying everything that crochet had to offer. In the back of my mind however, I always wished that I could knit. The beautiful patterns, the texture, and the delicate finish just made me so, so jealous. About a month ago I decided to try again, I was growing confident in my crochet and this, coupled with meeting my wonderful friend Mibs, who also happened to be a fabulous knitter (here’s her blog !) had offered to help me through. This gave me the determination to start again and get it right this time!

Equipped with determination, some lovely indie-dyed yarn, and a brilliant friend I started. I began with the simple but beautiful Hitchhiker shawl pattern by Martina Behm as it takes a simple stitch (garter, which I knew I could do) and turns it into something that looks elegant and impressive. The thought also crossed my mind that starting in August meant that it might just be finished in time for the winter months… maybe.

It took a lot of time to get started, my friend had suggested that I work on circular needles which was completely new to me. After a couple of false starts it started to come along nicely and I shocked myself by starting to enjoy it! I will admit that I did crochet a spot in-between, the shawl was coming along so slowly that I had to find salvation in a quick growing cushion or toy, but eventually, I got there and Voila! My Hitch-hiker Shawl.

I enjoyed making the shawl so much that I decided to make another one! I was so happy to be finally knitting, and knitting, well that I honestly couldn’t stop. Just like with crochet, I was slowing getting addicted to knitting. This could mean only one thing: double the yarn stash! I made this one with my own hand-dyed yarn in the tropical colours of a ‘Blue Lagoon’. I started with a simple pattern; an asymmetrical triangle in garter stitch but I decided to alter it slightly, adding in some delicate yarn overs every 9th row and a crochet beaded edge (another new thing!). This one hook me only 2 weeks (picking up speed) and is destined to be a Christmas present for a lovely family member who shall remain un-named so I don’t completely ruin the surprise.

My other half (let’s call him Mr D from now on) could see how much I was enjoying knitting and knew that it was something that I wanted to pursue even more. In a crazy fit of amazingness he surprised me with the most beautiful set of Knit Pro Royale circular needles and now I’m hooked for life! Currently on the needles is a pair of socks in blue, yellow and green (Hand dyed by me) and I am also in the process of designing a lovely cowl so make sure you keep your eyes peeled for more knitting patterns!

20160906_075825

Ladies and gentlemen, I am so, so, so, so, so happy to announce that I think I can officially say that I AM A KNITTER!

Leave a Reply

